Let’s return to the topic of FAT!

Okay, I just realised something. At first I thought the best way to advance Fat Acceptance was to make it known that fat does not equal bad health. Then I changed my mind and decided that since a person’s health is nobody’s business, we shouldn’t focus on that. How about “sustainable weight loss is impossible for nearly everyone” as a mantra? No, that only leads to accusations that we’re all defeatists who have “given up” (yes, even those of us who are thin … somehow).

Perhaps we should spend more time promoting the fact that weight loss is dangerous? Which is, after all, the truth. I know from experience that no matter how often you tell people that anything is none of their business, chances are they won’t listen. But if you tell them that you’re not going to follow their advice (or “advice”) because it is very dangerous? Obviously they can choose not to believe you, as with everything … I do think that this kind of discussion would be less emotionally challenging though.

Which is not to say that I’m giving up on bodily autonomy, of course. I’m just saying I may have found an alternative for those situations where facts are needed. Hey, I need to arm myself …

P.S. I do reply to my comments, but it usually takes me a while!

9 Responses to “Let’s return to the topic of FAT!”

  1. living400lbs Says:

    I’ve started telling people who ask that I don’t diet because I’m tired of gaining weight. Because every time I’ve lost weight I’ve ended up weight more than I started with, and I really am tired of gaining weight.

    The only problem is that usually they’re so busy blinking over my response that I don’t get to explain that the research backs me up on this….!

  2. Tiana Says:

    LOL! That’s even better, of course. ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. annaham Says:

    No, that only leads to accusations that weโ€™re all defeatists who have โ€œgiven up.โ€

    That’s an accusation often leveled at people with disabilities, and the chronically ill/pained who aren’t Supercrips, as you’re probably aware. It’s like two awful uses of one irritating trope! Yay!

  4. Tiana Says:

    I know, it’s double frustrating.

  5. Linda Says:

    Losing weight is not dangerous for everyone. Starving or eating bad food is dangerous. I lost weight intentionally, and have kept it off for a couple of years. It didn’t harm my health, and I feel better than I have for a long time.

    Why not just say: “It’s my personal choice not to intentionally lose weight. It has not worked out for me, the results were bad, and I’m not doing that any more?” Just as intentional weight loss is not bad for everybody, it’s also not ipso facto good for everybody, either.

    And people who tell you what to do with your body need to mind their own business.

  6. Tiana Says:

    Oops, looks like I missed a comment. I doubt this reply will still be seen, but …

    I guess I was rambling a little. I seriously did not realise that I made it sound as if I were talking about ANY weight loss EVER, which I was definitely not trying to do. And although it’s been a month since I made this post, I never noticed! So, uhm … thanks. And sorry about that.

    I’m aware that weight loss can be healthy, although there are always risks to consider – just like, I suppose, if someone were to actually gain weight on purpose for whichever reason, they would have to consider possible risks. They always tell us just because we don’t feel sick yet, we can’t count on staying healthy forever … I could say the same thing about people who’ve lost weight since scientists really don’t know shit at this point. I believe it is best to stay at the weight that you are unless it changes naturally, but of course I am mostly talking about myself and do not walk around berating other people for their choices.

    That said, I cannot say intentionally losing weight has not worked out for me because I’ve never done that in the first place and I am not interested in ever trying. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. twilightriver Says:

    Hey, check it out, a comment a month late. What can I say? I stopped reading blogs when my health went kerflooey.

    I’m a big fan of telling people that Fat Acceptance is about human dignity and respect. It’s about seeing a person as a human being regardless of size, shape, health, ability, morality or intelligence.

    We can argue all day about what another person knows, chooses, does, weighs, and thinks. Doesn’t matter. At the end of the day, that person that is so reviled because of stereotypes and rhetoric is still a human being.

    So, I always bring it back to that. I do the same thing with every other hot button issue. I find the human element and remind people that they can spout stereotypes and rhetoric all day, but it’s still human beings that they are talking about, human beings who are Just Like Them.

    (And I prattle on about it all day long. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Fat Bastard Says:

    I am battling with two anti-obesity crusaders. One is MeMe Roth and the other one is CG Brady. CG Brady is curing obesity with a method of thought control. It is some scary stuff.

    I am a fat acceptor and leader of the new fat acceptance movement. In the new fat acceptance we acknowledge the health risks that come with gluttony but we see them as acceptable risks for all the pleasure food gives us. Guilt free gluttony is true fat acceptance.

  9. wriggles Says:

    I think the best way to advance fat acceptance, regardless, revolves around owning our own fatness, if that makes sense.

    What I mean is, we are fat, we are experiencing fatness, we know what our experience of fat is, we do not need to be instructed on that by self appointed know-it-alls.

    When you say mind your own business, it should be, our business, our thing as they say. That includes thin etc into FA too.

    All of this takes time to permeate the consciousness of others because I’m afraid, with our eye on weight loss goals, we’ve rather allowed them to get away with this for too long, not drawing any boundaries on their liberty taking.

    The good side of this, is they are rather used to us doing a lot of the work of putting us down for them.

    This means they’re usedto an easy ride and will soon tire of having to confront a wall of, ‘are you telling me or asking me?’

    Trust me if we keep at it, they will get the message, indeed, they already are.


Leave a Reply

