BMI, WHR … What’s Next?

I saw an interesting comment at Eat A Cheeseburger today:

Also, the waist-to-hip thing isn’t exactly clear cut. When I lost a lot of weight in the spring, my waist-to-hip ration got higher. My fat is stored on my hips, so if I lose it, my hips get smaller but my waist doesn’t and the ratio goes up.

Are doctors and scientists aware of this phenomenon?

I just went into the bedroom and stared at myself in the mirror for a while … to figure out where my waist is. As I recently discovered, the thinnest part of my torso is and has always been the space directly below my boobs. Technically, I could think of that as my “waist” … but I doubt it’s where you’re supposed to measure.

My belly has been stretched out by pregnancy so that it now looks like a deflated balloon.  I can assure you that this makes for a significant difference in the shape of my waist – but how is this redistribution of mass supposed to affect my health? It’s the same stuff in the same general area, it has only moved around a bit. And it feels emptier. Perhaps I should suck my stomach in during the measuring progress, ha.

Which brings me to the next question: What about people with skin folds? Where do they measure? Or are they excluded from the whole WHR thing by default because it’s obvious they’re too fat one way or another?

Whoever said the BMI was flawed deserves a cookie. Those who are now saying that the WHR makes more sense apparently don’t.

One Response to “BMI, WHR … What’s Next?”


Leave a Reply

