Aaaaargh!

Isn’t it just terribly disappointing if you discover a particularly clever cartoonist on deviantART and spend half an hour happily browsing his gallery, only to happen across a fat joke among all the great works? The artist’s note contained an explanation that almost made me like the guy again, but then he ruined it in a reply to one of the comments. I’m not linking the piece because it’s more than two years old, in case you were wondering – and of course I also don’t want to send any traffic its way.

But it was not just that. Curious as I am, I checked to see if there were any newer comments and if he was still replying to them … which does not seem to be the case, but instead I discovered a very fresh rant from just two days ago, left by another great artist whom I’ve liked for several years, that was bursting with fat hate and all the usual stereotypes.

That’s right, the obesity stupidity epidemic has just ruined my day twice. A similar thing happened to me with a blog post by the author of a book I’m reading, but fortunately it was not quite clear from the context what was going on in his head at the time, so I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt.

And that’s why I’m almost afraid to find out anything personal about writers, musicians and actors that I admire. That’s also part of why I never read interviews, but to be honest I have never been very interested in those anyway.

I’m not offended, I’m disappointed. I don’t want to be the Angry Politically Correct Person who leaves a comment only for the sake of complaining after two whole years. There’s a chance that I might reply to the other artist’s rant, though, since I know I’m not dealing with a troll but it was terribly offensive nonetheless.

Life as an open-minded person is hard sometimes.

One Response to “Aaaaargh!”

  1. CordyQ Says:

    Tiana I had a situation like that on DeviantArt ( a place that I love almost as much as the fatosphere lol ) I had found an artist that blew me away with his incredibly beautiful portrayal of fat ladies. His work was the first time that I had ever seen people who looked like me done with such caring and love. The only artwork of fat people I had ever seen before had been sources of ridicule or fetishism that took away the humanity of the subject and made it into a sideshow.

    Anyway, I adored him and was his biggest fan for quite a while, then he started submitting pieces of hate work that had to do with my belief system, outright blatant hate works that smeared anyone of my belief spouting blanket statements of stereotypes and declaring that we were all stupid, hate filled people who couldn’t think for themselves. I tell you my heart broke, I mean yes he is welcome to his opinion, but I felt hated on a personal level. The things that he was accusing anyone who believes as I do of doing, I would never think of doing. Some people tried to defend themselves, but it was met with more hatred and seemed to prove to him that he was right about us being narrow minded and unaccepting.

    I never said anything, as it hurt too much, I felt such disappointment and sadness because a place that I had found acceptance and that had instilled me with a new view of myself was all of a sudden not safe for me and I was hated once again for who I was. I didn’t know how to react so I just sort of retreated. Part of me wishes I had spoken up and questioned why he was doing himself what he accused us of doing, but I didn’t and I kind of regret that.


Leave a Reply

